Czech Film Critics‘ Awards: Jan Palach won Best Film, Olmo Omerzu is the Best Director

04 February 2019

Czech Film

Czech Film Critics‘ Awards: Jan Palach won Best Film, Olmo Omerzu is the Best Director

Czech Film

Czech Film Critics‘ Awards: Jan Palach won Best Film, Olmo Omerzu is the Best Director


Robert Sedláček’s drama Jan Palach about the uncompromising young student who set himself on fire in 1969 to protest against the Soviet invasion to Czechoslovakia received the Best Film award at the Czech Film Critics‘ Awards 2018. Critics split the awards evenly among most of the nominated films.

During the ceremony on 2nd February 2019, Olmo Omerzu took home the award for Best Director for the road movie Winter Flies. Best Screenplay was written by Tomáš Pavlíček and Lucie Bokšteflová who created the bittersweet family comedy Bear with Us. Best Documentary When the War Comes about a populist politician rising from the Slovak paramilitary organisation was directed by Jan Gebert and produced by Radovan Síbrt from PINK.

The awards for best actor and actress went to Martin Huba for his performance in Talks with T. G. Masaryk and Jefovéfa Boková for Moments. Jakub Červenka, director and producer of Talks with TGM received also the Newcomer of the Year award.

Respected Czech director, artist, and animator Jan Švankmajer and his son Václav were celebrated for the production design of Švankmajer‘s latest feature Insect in the Audiovisual Achievement category. Ondřej Hudeček’s The Nagano Tapes produced for the Olympic Channel, a documentary about Czech ice-hockey players‘ win 1998 Olympics featuring professionals from the NHL, was victorious in the Offscreen category which celebrates TV, on-line, and other projects from non-theatrical distribution.

Full list of winners and nominees:

Best Film

Domestique | Jakub Jíra
Jan Palach | Viktor Schwarcz, Jan Schwarcz, Silvia Panáková, Erik Panák, Jan Maxa
Winter Flies | Jiří Konečný

Best Documentary

When the War Comes | Jan Gebert
King Skate | Šimon Šafránek
Nothing Like Before | Lukáš Kokeš, Klára Tasovská

Best Director

Domestique | Adam Sedlák
Jan Palach | Robert Sedláček
Winter Flies | Olmo Omerzu

Best Screenplay

Bear With Us | Tomáš Pavlíček, Lucie Bokšteflová
Jan Palach | Eva Kantůrková
Winter Flies | Petr Pýcha

Best Actress

Domestique | Tereza Hofová
Moments | Jenovéfa Boková
Jan Palach | Zuzana Bydžovská

Best Actor

The Hastrman | Karel Dobrý
Talks With TGM | Martin Huba
Jan Palach | Viktor Zavadil

Audiovisual Achievement

Domestique – Sound Design | Jan Šulcek, Jakub Jurásek
Insect – Art Stylization | Jan Švankmajer
Nothing Like Before – Cinematography | Lukáš Kokeš


Dukla 61 | David Ondříček, Jakub Režný, Matěj Podzimek
The Nagano Tapes | Ondřej Hudeček, Jon Weinbach
Rédl | Jan Hřebejk, Miro Šifra

Newcomer of the Year - Innogy Award

Jakub Červenka | Talks With TGM
Beata Parkanová | Moments
Viktor Zavadil | Jan Palach

Czech Film Center
division of the Czech Film Fund promoting Czech cinema worldwide



Contact us